Settling

Our plans to move to Taiwan have taken a turn! The Lord rather quickly took us down a different path, and 2 weeks ago, we moved to the Bay Area. Bethany is 6 months old now and this is the third house she has lived in. So, needless to say, I haven’t had much time to keep up with this blog!

I am so thankful for this new stage of life. My husband’s no longer in school, which means that we have some nights together now without homework! I quit my full-time job, so I can focus on being a full-time mama and homemaker. Although I know I will start to miss my family, friends, and church in Southern California, I can genuinely praise the Lord for where He has placed me now. Bethany is at a really fun age, we are at a great church, and we are still close by to family. My dad has been going to church, and hopefully some of my non-Christian relatives up here will come to know Jesus Christ also. I think one thing God has taught me in the last few months is that I need to have the willingness to follow Him wherever He leads me, and to trust that He will put our family is the place that is the best according to His plans.

I’m just starting to get back into a regular cooking routine, which I’m very excited about. Somehow, blogging about the food makes every day cooking seem just a little more fun…even though it should be a natural thrill for me to make food that my husband likes to eat! ;o)

We are serving in the congregation of a Chinese Church with many Chinese immigrants, so hopefully I’ll pick up some new cooking techniques! There’s a potluck tonight, so I’ll be scoping out the dishes I want to learn to make! But first, I’m going to try to focus on blogging some of the everyday dishes we eat. On next week’s menu, mapo tofu, steamed fish, and Beland’s favorite, pork chops!

Leave a Reply

